7/15/19 - Three American Nephrology Nurses Association Leaders Chosen by the American Academy of Nursing for Class of 2019 Fellows

Contact: Janet D'Alesandro
janetd@ajj.com; 856-256-2422

Three American Nephrology Nurses Association Leaders Chosen by the American Academy of Nursing for Class of 2019 Fellows

Dr. Tamara Kear, Dr. Charlotte Thomas-Hawkins, and Dr. Debra Hain join the ranks of the country’s most distinguished nurses.

PITMAN, NJ –  Tamara Kear, PhD, RN, CNS, CNN, of Doylestown, PA; Charlotte Thomas-Hawkins, PhD, RN, of Burlington, NJ; and Debra J. Hain, PhD, APRN, AGPCNP-BC, FAANP, FNKF, of Coconut Creek, FL, have been selected by the American Academy of Nursing (Academy) to the 2019 class of Academy fellows, one of the most prestigious honors in nursing.

Dr. Kear, Dr. Thomas-Hawkins, and Dr. Hain are longtime dedicated members of the American Nephrology Nurses Association (ANNA). They will be among the 231 highly distinguished nurse leaders in the 2019 class who will be celebrated at an induction ceremony October 24-26, 2019, during the Academy’s annual policy conference in Washington, DC.

“It’s an incredible honor for ANNA to have three of our dedicated nephrology nursing leaders inducted into the Academy for their outstanding accomplishments, leadership, and contributions to nursing,” Lou Ann Leary, ANNA’s interim executive director said. “The ANNA Board of Directors, volunteers, members, and staff all congratulate them on this well-deserved accomplishment.”

The 2019 class of fellows represents 38 states, the District of Columbia, as well as 17 countries. The Academy currently comprises more than 2,600 nurse leaders in education, management, practice, policy, and research. These nurse leaders have been recognized for their extraordinary commitment to promoting public health through evidence and innovation.

Fellows are selected through a rigorous process and chosen for their outstanding contributions to improving health care access and quality. Being inducted into the Academy is a significant milestone in a nurse leader’s career because selection is extremely competitive and decided by an elected committee of Academy fellows.

“I am proud to welcome this incredible class of leaders to the American Academy of Nursing," said Academy President Karen Cox, PhD, RN, FACHE, FAAN. "Their amazing accomplishments have changed health and health care across the country and around the globe. I look forward to celebrating the new fellows at our 2019 policy conference and working with them in the future so that our collective knowledge can impact and influence health policy."

The ANNA Inductees

Tamara Kear, PhD, RN, CNS, CNN

PhotoDr. Kear, who is currently ANNA’s president, was recently chosen as ANNA’s new executive director and will step into that role January 1, 2020. She has been an active member of the association for nearly 30 years, serving in a broad number of roles including ANNA National Director, Research Committee Member and Chairperson, ANNA Education Committee Member, and Nephrology Nursing Journal Editorial Board Member. She has received several awards from the association including the ANNA Research Abstract Award, 2013; and the ANNA Keystone Chapter Outstanding Contribution to the Chapter Award, 2017.

Dr. Kear represented ANNA on two prestigious committees: The Centers for Disease Control & Prevention Foundation’s Making Dialysis Safer Stakeholders Committee, and the Renal Physicians Association’s Patient Safety Committee. She also has devoted much of her career to groundbreaking research to advance nephrology nursing and patient care.

She is employed at Villanova University, Villanova, PA, as associate professor, and holds a joint appointment at Main Line Health, Philadelphia, PA, as the system’s nursing research consultant.

Charlotte Thomas-Hawkins, PhD, RN

PhotoDr. Thomas-Hawkins is a nephrology nursing educator, researcher, speaker and author. She has been an ANNA member for 34 years, serving as ANNA’s Research Development and Professional Practice Consultant and on the Conference Program Planning Committee. She has also served on several national ANNA task forces including the Nurse Sensitive Indicator, Recruitment and Retention, Agency for Health Care Policy and Research Clinical Practice Guideline Development, and as the chairperson of Education Task Force for Nursing Shortage. She is widely known for successfully advocating for an historic final CMS ruling to have an RN present during dialysis treatment. She received the “Outstanding Contributions to ANNA Award” in 2017.

She has used her research and training knowledge to assist such prestigious organizations as the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, federal and state agencies, and many other volunteer nursing and nephrology organizations.

Dr. Thomas-Hawkins is currently the Director, Center for Health Services Research and Policy, Rutgers University School of Nursing, Newark, NJ. She is also an associate professor at Rutgers.


PhotoDr. Hain is an educator, researcher, nurse practitioner, and author who has been an ANNA member for 15 years. She is an ANCC Certified Adult/Gerontological Primary Care Nurse Practitioner and has received several awards including the ANNA Helen Feigenbaum Award for Promotion of Excellence in Nephrology Nursing, the ANNA Excellence in Research Award, and the ANNA Nephrology Nursing Competence in Aging Award. She has been a chair and member of the ANNA Research Committee, South Florida Flamingo Chapter President, and Chair of the Chronic Kidney Disease Specialty Practice Network. She has served on several national ANNA task forces including the Palliative Care Position Statement, Nurse Sensitive Indicator, and the Nephrology Nursing Scope and Standards of Practice.

Dr. Hain recently received grant funding from Keryx Pharmaceuticals to investigate the effect of cognitive support strategies on medication management in older adults undergoing hemodialysis. She has authored several book chapters and numerous articles about chronic kidney disease (CKD) and hemodialysis in older adults in journals such as Nephrology Nursing Journal, Research in Gerontological Nursing and the Journal of the American Geriatrics Association. She also lectures extensively, and is a member of the National Quality Forum Renal Standing Committee and the American Society of Nephrology Continuous Professional Development Committee.  

Dr. Hain is a tenured Professor and Ronald and Elizabeth Distinguished Professor at the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing, Florida Atlantic University, in Boca Raton, FL. She continues to practice as an NP at the Cleveland Clinic Florida, Department of Nephrology and Hypertension. In addition, she co-developed a CKD clinic with a renal dietitian at a free medical clinic in South Florida that serves migrant workers. She has conducted research in Guatemala in adults with diabetes and CKD and has lectured on palliative care of adults with advanced CKD at Thammasat University in Thailand.

To learn more about ANNA, its leaders, and the nephrology nursing specialty, visit www.annanurse.org.


About ANNA

The American Nephrology Nurses Association (ANNA) is a professional nursing association comprising more than 8,300 nephrology nurses. ANNA improves members' lives through education, advocacy, networking, and science.

About the Academy

The American Academy of Nursing (www.AANnet.org) serves the public and the nursing profession by advancing health policy, practice, and science through organizational excellence and effective nursing leadership. The Academy's more than 2,600 fellows are nursing's most accomplished leaders in education, management, practice, and research. They have been recognized for their extraordinary contributions to nursing and healthcare.

Members of the media: To interview Dr. Tamara Kear. Dr. Thomas-Hawkins, and Dr. Hain, please contact Janet D’Alesandro, janetd@ajj.com.